Back to top

Extension in Southeastern Massachusetts

About Southeastern Massachusetts

The southeast region of Massachusetts is composed of Norfolk, Plymouth and Bristol counties. The largest city in the region is Brockton. Plymouth County funds and manages the 4-H Program in Plymouth County.

Turf Wars

Curious brown circles besieging your otherwise flawless fairway? Who you gonna call? For an increasing number of New England golf course superintendents, it’s UMass Amherst’s Stockbridge School of Agriculture, where associate professor Geunhwa Jung has implemented a singular new program to help fight a dreaded turf disease while keeping unnecessary chemicals at bay.

Farms Rooted in Communities

Agriculture is thriving once again in Massachusetts, nourished by a trend toward smaller farms, niche marketing, direct sales and a growing awareness of the impact of local sustainable agriculture systems on the health of people, communities and the environment. The latest USDA Agricultural Census indicates that from 2002 to 2007 the number of farms and the value of farm products both jumped by about 27 percent, led by direct sales and organic produce. Organic sales topped $17 million. By contrast, the period from 1997 to 2002 had seen a troubling 20-percent drop in the number of farms in Massachusetts, in acreage under cultivation, and in the market value of agricultural products.

Making Science Fun

Certifying vernal pools, building wood duck nesting boxes, and participating in ocean clean-ups may challenge the idea of spare time fun for many young folks. Not so if you are a member of the Nature’s Navigators 4-H Science Club of Middleboro. The club’s 16 members, ages seven through 16, relax into all of the above with joy and enthusiasm. “Science experiments and scientific jobs are multifaceted, involving several disciplines, skills and most importantly, a healthy dose of enthusiasm,” notes Carlos Fragata, one of the club’s three leaders.